A Weekend in St. Ignace

So for the past few days I’ve been on a mini vacation with Maegen, her mom, and a family friend of theirs with her twin daughters. We went up to St. Ignace, MI and also visited Mackinac Island.

Boy did we get lucky.

It was the weekend of the Race to Mackinac and the boats arrived on the day we visited Mackinac Island itself. Also, we watched a small fireworks show. Other than the sightseeings, we also got to see some pretty sights, the Mackinac Bridge being on of the prominent ones. Another reason we were quite lucky was of the weather. As you’ll see, there’s plenty of blue skies (also, thank you polarizing filter).

My favorite reason why we were lucky is that we caught a drum and bugle corps rehearsing one morning. The part of this which was my favorite was making great images of the tuba section practicing in the water itself. The weather wasn’t too hot that day, high of mid-80s, but why not practice in the water, right?

When I saw the group in the water, I immediately kicked off my shoes and hiked up my shorts to get as far into the water as possible. Boy was this fun! I didn’t get too close to the group because I didn’t want to get in every photo Maegen was taking from the shore.

I was also glad to have a chance at doing a night star trails image. I wish we could’ve stayed longer for more images, but we had to leave early the next morning for me to catch a train back to Champaign – and back to reality. You’ll see this image as the last image in the gallery.

Overall, I would love to visit again – it’s quite the different place compared to Champaign.

See an image you like or want to know more about? Post a comment or contact me directly!

Want to see more photos? Check out Daryl Quitalig Photography on facebook and also my personal page!

Leave a comment